As outlined in the Seventh Community Pharmacy Agreement (Seventh Agreement) between the Australian Government, the Pharmacy Guild of Australia (the Guild) and the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA), there is a commitment to increasing investment in regional, rural and remote areas. 

As part of this commitment, from 1 July 2021, the 7CPA Rural Support Programs will transition from the Pharmacy Access/Remoteness Index of Australia (PhARIA) rural classification system to the Modified Monash Model (MMM) to ensure greater support for regional, rural and remote pharmacy students, interns, pharmacists and pharmacies.

An overview on each Rural Support Program transitioning to the MMM can be found here.

Please note the PhARIA website will no longer be available from early July 2021. Program participants should therefore ensure if they need to check the PhARIA category of any location that they do so prior to 1 July 2021.